Restore Your Health Restore Your Quality of Life

Functional Nutrition to Feel Like You Imagine  

EAT SMART. LIVE INSPIRED. THRIVE NOW

How The Nutrition Effect Can Help You

No matter if you want to lose weight, struggle with digestive issues or low energy, have autoimmune conditions such as hashimotos, celiac disease, eczema, rheumatoid arthritis, other chronic diseases (cancer, type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure, metabolic syndrome, elevated cortisol, etc.), suffer from sleep issues, or simply not feeling right, I can support you and help you feel better. In addition to improving your overall health and wellbeing, I specialize in women’s health issues, nutrigenomics and offer HeartMath training, a tool that can effectively reduce stress, anxiety and depression that are so common in our world today.

Meet Carola Kissel

I strongly believe in the functional medicine approach, i.e., finding the root cause the root cause of a particular disease or problem as a way to heal ourselves or prevent the development of a chronic illness. It is essential to realize and understand that symptoms are not the problem, but what´s showing up on the surface. Patching those with a band-aid won´t give you a sustainable relief. Using a structured approach, we will dig deep to find the real drivers. In the majority of cases, the root cause lies in the gut.

You are unique! Each of us is. Your body needs a different diet than your best friend. And it will also change over time. It is driven by things like your genetics, where you currently live, how you grew up, and even how your mother ate during pregnancy. Moreover, what your body needs will also change over time. Developing an individual plan that is precisely right for you - and only you - will help you feel better often within a short period.

Your body signals: Our body tells us continuously what it needs, such as resting instead of working out, increasing healthy carbs during certain times, or even avoiding raw vegetables. Things that are generally considered healthy, might not be the right choice for you at this specific moment. Unfortunately, most of us have unlearned this innate instinct we had as small children. Listening to your body will make it so much easier to pick the right choices. Every day. Long term.

Ditching sugar or dairy is not easy for some. Having a support network is very important during these sometimes-challenging times. Change is hard and needs to be acknowledged! Having a spouse or a close friend who is supporting you and holding you accountable on your journey is very important and makes it easier to reach your health goals.

Education, Credentials & Accreditations:

Inspired by my journey back to health, I decided to make a career change. I enrolled in the Master of Science program in Nutrition and Integrative Health to be able to help others that are stuck in similar situations. Being a Doctor of Veterinary medicine in my previous career has helped me significantly to understand the underlying human biochemical and physiological mechanisms as well as high-quality research outcomes that I consider as fundamentals. I see myself as a life-long learner and continuously enroll in advanced training to make sure I am up to date in this innovative field. Therefore, the list below only highlights the most significant credentials related to functional nutrition.

• Master of Science Nutrition and Integrative Health Maryland University of Integrative Health (accredited by the Accreditation Council for Nutrition Professional Education / ACNPE)
• Certified HeartMath Practitioner
Member Institute of Functional Medicine
• Member American College of Nutrition

Functional Medicine & Nutrition

The term functional nutrition is actually a component of a concept known as functional medicine. Instead of treating individual diseases, functional medicine looks to heal the underlying root causespresent in the body that contributes to each condition or problem.

The Main Characteristics of Functional Medicine:


It is patient-centered rather than disease-centered, with the goal to promote health. It treats the patient, not the disease. Treatments are highly individualized based on patient needs whereas conventional medicine treats the disease, not the patient. Patients with the same disease get the same treatment, regardless of their differences.

It treats the root cause allowing sustainable long-term health, instead of treating symptoms for temporary relief.

It looks for imbalances within the biological systems and seeks correlations between those and patient’s symptoms to help pinpoint underlying causes.

It promotes lifestyle changes (related to sleep, stress, exercise, social interactions, and nutrition) for the prevention and treatment of chronic diseases.

It creates a therapeutic (participatory) partnership between practitioner and patient: the patient is respected, empowered, educated, and encouraged to play an active role in the healing process to allow long term and sustainable success.

What is Functional Nutrition?

Although functional nutrition and medicine do have the same goals, principles and are overlapping in many aspects, functional nutrition takes it even one step further. Functional nutrition highlights ways that food is a fundamental component of health and the cause of many physical problems. Dr. Mark Hyman, the chairman of the Institute of Functional Medicine, defines functional nutrition as a concept that “emphasizes the importance of high-quality foods and phytonutrient diversity to address clinical imbalances and move people to the highest expression of health.”

 Functional nutrition focuses on the whole person (client-centered, considering mind, body, and spirit) and the root cause of the issue as opposed to a conventional nutrition approach, which generally recommends the same diet for the same disease.

The key to the success of functional nutrition is that it lets you treat food as medicine to set your body up for better health. By realigning your relationship with food, you can shift your entire paradigm on eating allowing you to make healthy choices and fully understand that every aspect of your physical and emotional life is interconnected.

Whole systems thinking is gaining traction in the medical world, and the trend shows little sign of slowing down. Functional nutrition provides answers to some of the most significant health problems today, and its premises of targeting your diet to your individual health concerns can make a world of difference in your quality of life. By taking time to learn more about this paradigm shift in popular dieting, you can start achieving your best health yet.

American Fitness Professionals & Associates

Special Approach To Every Client!

Get Free 30-minute Consultation Now!

Disclaimer:

As a functional nutrition practitioner, I am not in a position to diagnose, prescribe, or treat clients for specific conditions. Instead, a functional nutrition practitioner’s role is to look at all health problems holistically, educate clients about the ways their behavior is impeding their optimal health, and offer suggestions for improvement.

Before embarking on a functional nutrition program, you should always consult your primary healthcare physician about any health concerns that you may have.

Restore Your Health Restore Your Quality of Life

Funktionelle Ernährung zum Wohlfühlen  

EAT SMART. LIVE INSPIRED. THRIVE NOW

Wie The Nutrition Effect Dir helfen kann

Hast Du mit zu vielen Pfunden oder zu wenig Energie zu kämpfen? Oder sind es vielleicht Verdauungsprobleme, Schlafstörungen oder Vergesslichkeit die Dir Sorgen machen? Leidest Du an einer Autoimmunkrankheit wie z.B. Hashimotos, Zöliakie, Neurodermitis, Asthma oder Rheumatoide Arthritis oder wurde bei Dir eine andere chronische Erkrankung diagnostiziert (Krebs, Typ-2-Diabetes, Bluthochdruck, metabolisches Syndrom, etc.)? Möglicherweise fühlst Du Dich auch einfach nicht ganz fit und weißt nicht warum oder möchtest gesund altern. Ich kann Dich dabei unterstützen und Dir helfen Dich wieder besser zu fühlen.

Neben der Verbesserung Deiner allgemeinen Gesundheit, hängt mein Herz sehr an den Themenschwerpunkten hormonelle Probleme der Frau (insbesondere alles Rund um das Thema Schwangerschaft) und „Nutrigenomics“. Zusätzlich bin ich ein zertifizierter HeartMath-Coach. HeartMath ist ein einfaches Instrument, das hilft, mit dem Stress, Angstzustände und Depressionen – die heutzutage in unserer Welt so häufig sind – besser umzugehen.

Über Mich

Ich glaube fest an den Ansatz der funktionellen Medizin, das heißt die Grundursache einer bestimmten Krankheit oder eines bestimmten Problems zu finden, und genau dort anzusetzen um zu heilen oder die Entwicklung einer chronischen Krankheit zu verhindern. Es ist dabei ganz wichtig zu verstehen, dass Symptome nicht das Problem sind, sondern lediglich das was sich an der Oberfläche zeigt. Die Symptome mit einem Pflaster zu verdecken wird keine nachhaltige Erleichterung bringen. Mit einem strukturierten Ansatz werden wir tief graben (müssen) um die wirklichen Treiber zu finden. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass die Grundursache oftmals im Darm ihren Ursprung hat.

Du bist einzigartig! Jeder von uns ist es. Dein Körper braucht eine andere Ernährung als der Deiner besten Freundin. Die Ansprüche werden sich zudem mit der Zeit ändern. Dieses hängt zum Beispiel von Deiner Genetik ab, wo Du derzeit lebst, wie Du aufgewachsen bist und sogar davon, wie Deine Mutter während der Schwangerschaft gegessen hat. Mit einem individuellen Ansatz der genau zu Dir passt – und nur zu Dir -, kannst Du Dich oftmals innerhalb kurzer Zeit schon besser fühlen.

Körpersignale: Unser Körper sagt uns eigentlich ganz genau was er braucht. Zum Beispiel das er eher Ruhe braucht als eine anstrengende Sporteinheit, vielleicht doch mehr Kohlenhydrate als es die Low-Carb Diät erlaubt oder für ein paar Tage einfach mal keinen Salat. Dinge, die allgemein als gesund gelten, sind in diesem Moment möglicherweise nicht die richtige Wahl für Dich. Leider haben die meisten von uns diesen angeborenen Instinkt, den wir als kleine Kinder hatten, verlernt. Wenn Du anfängst wieder mehr auf Deinen Körper hören, wird es viel einfacher, die richtigen Entscheidungen zu treffen. Jeden Tag. Langfristig!

Zucker oder Milchprodukte wegzulassen ist für manche nicht einfach. In solchen, oft herausfordernden Zeiten, ist es wichtig, ein Support-Netzwerk zu haben. Veränderung ist schwer und dass muss jeder begreifen! Darum ist es sehr hilfreich, einen Partner oder einen engen Freund zu haben, der Dich auf Deiner Reise unterstützt und Dir hilft Deine Gesundheitsziele zu erreichen.

Ausbildung & Akkreditierungen:

Inspiriert von meiner eigenen Reise zurück zur Gesundheit, habe ich mich vor einigen Jahren  zu einer beruflichen Veränderung entschlossen und mich für das Master of Science-Programm Nutrition and Integrative Health eingeschrieben, mit dem Ziel, anderen helfen zu können, die in ähnlichen Situationen stecken. Meine vorherige Karriere als Doktor der Veterinärmedizin hilft mir immer wieder immens, die grundlegenden biochemischen und (patho)physiologischen Mechanismen des Menschen sowie qualitativ hochwertige Forschungsergebnisse, zu verstehen und umzusetzen. Ich bezeichne mich als „lebenslange Lernende“ und bilde mich mit Freude und großer Passion ständig auf dem faszinierenden Gebiet der Functional Medicine und Nutrition fort. Die folgende Liste stellt somit nur meine wichtigsten Meilensteine im Hinblick auf die funktionelle Ernährung dar:

• Master of Science Nutrition and Integrative Health Maryland University of Integrative Health (accredited by the Accreditation Council for Nutrition Professional Education / ACNPE)
• Certified HeartMath Practitioner
• Member Institute of Functional Medicine
• Member American College of Nutrition

Funktionelle Medizin und Ernährung:

Der Begriff funktionelle Ernährung, auf englisch “functional Nutrition“ basiert auf dem Konzept der funktionelle Medizin (functional Medicine). Anstatt sich auf die Erkrankung und die damit einhergehenden Symptome zu konzentrieren, legt die funktionelle Medizin Ihren Fokus auf die Ursache, dem „root cause“ der Erkrankung. Symbolisch wird dafür oftmals ein Baum verwendet welcher nur mit gesunden „roots“ (Wurzen) gedeihen kann.

Hauptmerkmale der funktionellen Medizin:


-patientenzentriert vs. krankheitszentriert, d.h. Behandlung des Patienten und nicht der Krankheit. Die Behandlungen in der funktionellen Medizin sind stark auf die individuellen Bedürfnisse der Patienten zugeschnitten, während in der Schulmedizin Patienten mit derselben Krankheit – unabhängig von ihren Unterschieden – oftmals die gleiche Behandlung erhalten.

-Behandlung der Grundursache / „root cause“ und damit die Gewährleistung von langfristiger, nachhaltiger Gesundheit, vs. Behandlung der Symptome zur vorübergehenden Linderung.

-Identifikation von Ungleichgewichten innerhalb der biologischen Systeme und Korrelationen zwischen diesen und den Symptomen des Patienten, um die zugrunde liegenden Ursachen zu lokalisieren.

-Änderungen des Lebensstils (in Bezug auf Schlaf, Stress, Bewegung, soziale Interaktionen und Ernährung) zur Vorbeugung und Behandlung chronischer Krankheiten.

-Therapeutische (partizipative) Partnerschaft zwischen Arzt und Patient: Der Patient wird respektiert, befähigt, ausgebildet und ermutigt, eine aktive Rolle im Heilungsprozess zu spielen, um einen langfristigen und nachhaltigen Erfolg zu ermöglichen.

Was ist funktionelle Ernährung (functional Nutrition)?

Obwohl funktionelle Ernährung und Medizin dieselben Ziele und Prinzipien haben und sich in vielen Aspekten überschneiden, geht die funktionelle Ernährung noch einen Schritt weiter. Sie erklärt, wieso Ernährung ein grundlegender Bestandteil der Gesundheit und die Ursache vieler körperlicher Probleme ist. Dr. Mark Hyman, Vorsitzender des Instituts für funktionelle Medizin (IFM), definiert funktionelle Ernährung als ein Konzept, das „die Bedeutung hochwertiger Nahrungsmittel und der Vielfalt der Phytonährstoffe betont, um klinische Ungleichgewichte zu beseitigen und Menschen zum höchsten Level der Gesundheit zu bewegen“.

Die funktionelle Ernährung konzentriert sich genauso wie die funktionelle Medizin auf die gesamte Person (Klienten orientiert unter Berücksichtigung von Geist, Körper und Seele etc.) und den Ursprung der Erkrankung und unterscheidet sich somit grundlegend von dem konventionelle Ernährungsansatz, bei dem fast immer dieselbe Ernährung für dieselbe Krankheit empfohlen wird.

Der Schlüssel zum Erfolg einer funktionellen Ernährung liegt darin, dass Nahrung als Medizin genutzt wird, da sie dem Körper alle notwendigen Bausteine zur Heilung und Prävention liefert. Indem Du Deine Beziehung zu Nahrungsmitteln neu überdenkst und ausrichtest, kannst Du zukünftig bessere, gesündere Entscheidungen treffen und wirst zudem verstehen lernen, dass jeder Aspekt Deines physischen und emotionalen Lebens miteinander verbunden ist.

“Whole systems thinking is gaining traction in the medical world, and the trend shows little sign of slowing down. Functional nutrition provides answers to some of the most significant health problems today, and its premises of targeting your diet to your individual health concerns can make a world of difference in your quality of life. By taking time to learn more about this paradigm shift in popular dieting, you can start achieving your best health yet.”

American Fitness Professionals & Associates

Special Approach To Every Client!

Get Free 30-minute Consultation Now!

Haftungsausschluss:

Ich bin als funktionelle Ernährungsberaterin nicht in der Position Erkrankungen zu diagnostizieren, zu behandeln oder Medikamente zu verschreiben. Stattdessen besteht die Aufgabe eines funktionellen Ernährungsberaters darin, Gesundheitsprobleme ganzheitlich zu betrachten, Klienten darüber aufzuklären, wie das jeweilige Verhalten ihre optimale Gesundheit beeinträchtigt, und spezifische Lösungsansätze zu unterbreiten.

Konsultiere immer deinen Hausarzt bevor Du ein funktionelles Ernährungsprogramm startest.